The Future of Research Communications and e-Scholarship

FSCI 2022

Collaboration for Action: Sharing Knowledge Across Boundaries

FORCE11 Scholarly Communication Institute in partnership with UCLA Library

FSCI Team & Contacts 2022

Modified: Wed, 14 Dec 2022 16:56:46 +0000
Published: 14 Dec 2022
Steering Committee
Martin Brennan, UCLA Library, Chair
Nicky Agate, University of Pennsylvania Libraries
Stephanie Hagstrom, RDA
Ronald Margolis, NIH (Emiritus)
Maryann Martone, UC San Diego
Fiona Murphy, Murphy Mitchell Consulting Ltd
Cameron Neylon, Curtin University
Daniel O’Donnell, University of Lethbridge
Amy Price, University of Oxford
Alison Scott, UCLA Library
Shelley Stall, American Geophysical Union

Participant Experience Committee (PEC)
Yuhan Douglas Rao, North Carolina State University, Chair
Barbara Bordalejo, University of Saskatchewan
Nathan Woods, University of Illinois at Urbana/Champaign
Osman Aldirdiri, SPARC Africa
Jonathan Grunert, SUNY Geneseo
Clarke Iakovakis, Oklahoma State University
Tom Olijhoek, Directory of Open Access Journals

Communications Committee
Simon Lee, UCLA Library, Chair
Martin Brennan, UCLA Library
Megan Rosenbloom, UCLA Library

Archive Committee
Anna Oates, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, Chair
Nina Exner, Virginia Commonwealth University
Danny Kingsley, Consultant
Ye Li, MIT
Erica Zhang, UCLA Library

Program Committee
Nina Exner, Virginia Commonwealth University, co-Chair
Martin Brennan, UCLA Library, co-Chair
Jennifer Chan, UCLA Library
Gimena del Rio Riande, CONICET, Argentina
Samir Hachani, Algiers’ University
Stephanie Hagstrom, RDA
Kathleen Jagodnik, Bar-Ilan University
Daniel S. Katz, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Ye Li, MIT
Daniel O’Donnell, University of Lethbridge
Tom Olijhoek, Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Samya Brata Roy, Indian Institute of Technology, Jodhpur
Anneliese Taylor UC San Francisco

Advisory Committee

Juan Pablo Alperin, Simon Fraser College Public Knowledge Project
Phil Bourne, University of Virginia
Joseph Bristow, UCLA
Tim Clark, University of Virginia
David De Roure, Oxford University
Miho Funamori, National Institute of Informatics
Elizabeth Gadd, Loughborough
Carole Goble, University of Manchester
Heather Joseph, Scholarly Publishing and
Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC)
Danny Kingsley, Cambridge University
Catriona MacCallum, Hindawi Publishing
Maryann Martone, UC San Diego
Robert McDonald, University of Colorado, Boulder
Nirmala Menon, Digital Humanities and Publishing Research Group
at the Indian Institute of Technology
Susanna-Assunta Sansone, University of Oxford
and Nature Publishing Group
Alison Scott, UCLA Library
Ray Siemens, DHSI and University of Victoria
Shelley Stall, American Geophysical Union
Virginia Steel, UCLA Library

For questions contact Lusia Veksler at

FSC11 Posts

Fireside Chat with FSCI

Author: Iryna Kuchma Join Fireside Chat with FSCI in The Reimagining Educational Practices for Open (REPO) Community Event Series    Serah Rono, Director of Community Development and Engagement at The Carpentries, will chat with Martin J. Brennan, Scholarly Communication Education Librarian at UCLA, about his role in the FORCE11 Scholarly Communication Institute (FSCI), and the impact

Read More

You should attend FSCI, here is why.,,,

You should attend FSCI, here is why. FSCI is a unique experience that will place you in the middle of an ongoing conversation about open access and scholarly communication. Researchers, librarians, and other specialists get together to teach, learn, and strategize, impulsing change. But FSCI is much more than that.  I first heard of Force

Read More

FSCI Attendance Inspires Scholarly Publishing Literacy Additions to MPH Course

The FORCE 11 Scholarly Communication Institute proved to be a valuable combination of inspiration and encouragement to pursue open access goals along with practical strategies for implementing them. I was able to benefit from this institute thanks to a scholarship from FORCE11 and the UCLA Library, the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada

Read More