The Future of Research Communications and e-Scholarship

Close this search box.

The results are in! Welcome new BoD members.

Bianca Kramer – Utrecht University Library / 101 Innovations in Scholarly Communication

See ORCID ( 🙂 In addition, I have been a member of the steering committee of the FORCE11 Scholarly Commons Working Group since its inception in 2015, and I was on the programme committee of FORCE2017.

Short video on my work on Innovations in Scholarly Communication:

Link to CV:

Mandy A. Taha – Library of Alexandria, Alexandria University

My name is Mandy A. Taha and i hold a PhD in Engineering Management and currently an Open Access Consultant in Arab States, DOAJ Editor for Arabic Journals and volunteering with other entities as AIMS and e_LIS.

I have been advocating Open Access in Egypt and Arab states since 2008, starting by editing a DRIVER Wiki page on Open Access in Egypt, and continuing on organizing the Open Access Week activities since 2010 till present. Also, publications concerning Open Access and Science & Technology Librarianship (ISTL). Sharing in FORCE 11 “Scholarly Commons group” where learning from and participating with peers in south discussions on creating creative solutions to enable the scholarly movement in our regions was an excelent opportunity. Link to CV:

Jennifer McLennan – eLife Sciences Publications Ltd

Jennifer is an advocate for change in research communication. Having faced the paradox of subscription sales for scholarly resources just as digitisation of entire libraries and free, immediate, online access to content were becoming possible, Jennifer made the switch to advocacy for a new system through SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition). As SPARC’s Director of Programs, Jennifer worked to advance topics including open access, taxpayer access, author copyrights retention, digital repositories, student advocacy, campus-based publishing, and government- and institution-level open-access policies.
Benefiting in this way from an industry-level view of the dynamics of research communication, Jennifer was one of the first to be recruited to eLife – an unprecedented move by the funders of research to effect change in the space. As Head of Marketing and Communications, and External Relations more recently, Jennifer has been part of the core team responsible for launching the eLife journal, and setting the organization on its path to help reshape science publishing. Her responsibilities have included the eLife brand strategy and message platform, editorial community management, marketing the journal and open-source tools/services, engaging the press and trade media, and recruiting new partners to the eLife initiative.

In earlier years, Jennifer led marketing and public relations for academic publishers and nonprofit organizations. She holds a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Victoria and a Master's degree in Business Administration from Athabasca University – both in Canada.

Link to CV:

Violeta Ilik – Stony Brook University

Violeta Ilik is the is the Head of Cataloging and Metadata Services at Frank Melville Jr. Library Stony Brook University. Violeta has experience in managing content creation and dissemination of print and digital resources, supporting scholars’ online identity with researcher management systems, and providing support for faculty, students, and staff on scholarly communication issues. Violeta works with a wide range of stakeholders to develop and implement programs that increase awareness about scholarly communication issues in the digital environment among faculty, researchers, and students.

Link to CV:


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Articles


FORCE11 annual conference: 1-3 August

UCLA Los Angeles


Join the FORCE11 community and take part in our groups, conference, summer school, post on FORCE11, and attend other events.


FORCE2023 Sponsors

The FORCE11 community thanks the following organizations for their financial support of the
FORCE2023 annual conference.